The breaking away of Mother of Our Savior chapel from St. Mary of Redford seemed to foreshadow the latter's future. Although there were smaller-scaled expansion projects after 1960 (several classroom additions and new gymnasium in 1967) no new chapels were ever planned or built. The parish never again witnessed the huge crowds of a decade or two earlier. The subsequent elevation of Our Lady Queen of Hope chapel to full parish status in 1865 reduced the mother parish's territory and congregation still further. The exodus of Detroit's white middle class to the suburbs accelerated after the 1967 riots, leaving behind a predominantly non-Catholic black population that required a special evangelization in order to be brought into the Catholic fold. The parish schools which once barred nonparishioners from attending are now open to any student desiring a Catholic education. St. Mary of Redford itself has been administratively united by the Detroit Archdiocese with two other parishes, St. Brigid and Our Lady Gate of Heaven, in a unique experiment involving shared ministries, services and resources.
Nevertheless there can be no denial of St. Mary's former greatness and of its rightful place in Detroit Catholic history. The parish's rise from troubled beginnings to an unsurpassed pre-eminence is a testimonial to the willful faith of pastors and parishioners joined in spirit and effort. Though St. Mary of Redford's future is not yet written, its past cannot be erased.